Salt Lake City Utah Criminal Defense Attorney Ryan Holtan Wins Dismissal of Class A Misdemeanor Assault Charges
Salt Lake City Utah Criminal Defense Attorney Ryan Holtan Wins Dismissal
In Utah, a Class A misdemeanor is punishable up to 1 year in the state county jail and up to a $2,500 fine. A Class A misdemeanor is the most serious misdemeanor charge in the State of Utah. When a criminal defendant already has prior misdemeanor or felony charges in Utah, what appears to be a simple crime may be enhanced to a Class A misdemeanor. For example, a protective order violation is usually grounds for a criminal defendant being charged with a Class A misdemeanor.
“People often under-estimate the serious consequences of a Class A misdemeanor simply because it is a misdemeanor as opposed to a felony,” explains Salt Lake City Utah criminal defense attorney Ryan Holtan. “A criminal defendant may be sentenced more severely for a Class A misdemeanor than a feloney.”
In a recent case, Utah Criminal Attorney Ryan Holtan successfully defended a client accused of Utah drug charges with a Class A misdemeanor possession of paraphernelia charge. However, Mr. Holtan successfully argued for a dismissal with prejudice by the judge. The judge agreed with Mr. Holtan’s reasoning and dismissed the case with prejudice. As a result, that case can never be re-filed against Mr. Holtan’s client.
Contact a Salt Lake City Utah Criminal Defense Attorney
If you or a loved one is facing charges including a Class A misdemeanor, call the law offices of Pearson, Butler & Carson, PLLC, and ask to speak with a Utah criminal attorney at (801) 495-4104. Our Utah criminal defense attorneys offer free initial consultations.