Utah DWI Attorney
Utah punishes DUI and DWI more severely than almost any other state. The penalties for driving while intoxicated and under the influence can impact your life for years. Taking a DWI or DUI charge lightly can result in severe consequences, including:
- Drivers license suspension from 120 days to 2 years
- Jail from 2 days to 1 year
- Mandatory minimum jail of 62 days for felony DUI and DWI or up to 5 years
- Thousands of dollars in fines and mandatory treatment costs
The key to every DUI and DWI charge is almost always your constitutional rights. There are many myths about what rights you have. Don’t trust second-hand knowledge from friends and co-workers, you need an Salt Lake City DWI attorney whose sole job is to know and protect your rights. Only an experienced Utah DUI attorney or DWI attorney at Pearson, Butler & Carson, PLLC, can identify the mistakes in a field sobriety test, or what made your traffic stop unconstitutional, or even whether a police officer has overstepped or abused their power.
Utah DWI Charges
DWI charges come in two parts. After you’ve been arrested you have 10 days to file a request with the DMV to preserve your license. If you fail to file that request or if it’s filed too late, even the best Utah DWI lawyer won’t be able to protect your license. This is why its important to contact an experienced defense attorney immediately after your arrest. Our Utah Criminal Attorney team can request a DMV hearing and preserve your license. For many people this means the difference between a paycheck and unemployment.
After your DMV hearing your criminal case will begin. A courtroom can be an intimidating place. Filled with Salt Lake City DWI lawyer groups, police officers, and judges, it’s hard to know who’s looking out for you and who’s trying to see you put behind bars. Don’t walk in alone–walk in with a Utah DWI Attorney and Salt Lake City DWI Lawyer who knows the system and knows your case.
Dont be a victim. Know your rights. Call for a Utah DWI Attorney at (801) 495-4104.